U.S. Consulate General Osaka

Welcome to the official site of the U.S. Consulate General Osaka-Kobe. The Consulate General (CG), located near Umeda in the heart of Osaka, is headed by Consul General Richard Mei, Jr., and includes the offices of several sections, including the Administrative, Consular, Political/Economic, Commercial, and Public Affairs (the Kansai American Center) Sections, and an Agricultural Trade Office.

CG Osaka-Kobe’s consular district includes 17 of Japan’s 47 prefectures and is spread across the west-central regions of Kansai, Chugoku, Shikoku, and Hokuriku. Kansai is the name given to the nine-prefecture region of western-central Japan, consisting of Osaka, Hyogo, Kyoto, Shiga, Nara, Wakayama, Mie, Fukui, Tokushima, and Tottori. The Kansai region is Japan’s second-largest industrial, financial, commercial and population center after the greater Tokyo area. Located about halfway between Tokyo and the southern tip of Honshu, Japan’s largest island, it is the birthplace of many of the country’s largest trading companies, home to several of the world’s largest banks, and headquarters to a number of Japan’s leading corporations including Nintendo, Kyocera, Daikin and Panasonic.

The Kansai region has a richly varied topography and covers an area with a radius of approximately 150 km (95 miles). While occupying only 11% of Japan’s total land area, the Kansai has a population of some 24 million people (19% of Japan’s total), concentrated primarily in the cities of Osaka, Kobe and Kyoto. Kansai is an economic giant, with traditional industries of digital consumer electronics, electronic components, pharmaceuticals, chemicals, textiles and apparel and sporting goods led by cutting edge new tech sectors such as biotechnology, nanotechnology, industrial ceramics, robotics and photovoltaic power technology.

Prefectures in CG Osaka-Kobe’s District:

Kinki Region: Hyogo Pref. Osaka Pref. Kyoto Pref. Nara Pref. Shiga Pref. Wakayama Pref.
Shikoku Region: Kagawa Pref. Tokushima Pref. Ehime Pref. Kochi Pref.
Chugoku Region: Tottori Pref. Shimane Pref. Hiroshima Pref. Okayama Pref.
Hokuriku Region: Toyama Pref. Ishikawa Pref. Fukui Pref.