Holidays to be Observed in 2017

The Embassy will be closed to the public in observance of the following United States and Japanese holidays:

  Holiday   Date   Day of the Week
New Year’s Holidays   Jan. 2-3 Mon.-Tues
Adult’s Day   Jan. 9 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday   Jan. 16 Monday
Washington’s Birthday   Feb. 20 Monday
Vernal Equinox Day   March 20 Monday
Golden Week Holidays   May 3-5 Weds-Fri
Memorial Day   May 29 Monday
Independence Day   July 4 Tuesday
Marine Day   July 17 Monday
Mountain Day   Aug. 11 Friday
Labor Day   Sept. 4 Monday
Respect for the Aged Day   Sept. 18 Monday
Columbus Day/Sports Day   Oct. 9 Monday
Culture Day   Nov. 3 Friday
Veterans Day   Nov. 10 Friday
Thanksgiving Day   Nov. 23 Thursday
Christmas Day   Dec. 25 Monday